The Dark Is Rising (The Dark Is Rising Sequence #2) (Paperback)

The Dark Is Rising (The Dark Is Rising Sequence #2) By Susan Cooper Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
Point Reyes
On hand as of May 19 5:09pm
Wayfinder Bookshop
On hand as of May 20 3:35am


A boy discovers his magical destiny and sets off on a vital mission to defeat the Dark in the Newbery Honor–winning second installment of Susan Cooper’s epic The Dark Is Rising Sequence, now with a brand-new look!

The day before Will Stanton’s eleventh birthday, he notices strange omens on his family farm: a cryptic gift, a terrifying flock of birds, and a deep, cold fear that emerges from the darkness. When he wakes on his birthday—also Midwinter Day—Will has the life-changing revelation that he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals who fight to keep the powers of evil, the Dark, from taking over the world.

Will gets immediately swept away by his new destiny as he sets off in search of six magical Signs that will one day aid the Old Ones in the final battle between the Light and the Dark. But the Dark has dispatched its own agent in pursuit: the rider—evil cloaked in black, mounted on a midnight stallion. As evil looms ever closer, Will must find the Signs of wood, bronze, iron, water, fire, and stone before the Dark begins its dreadful rise.

About the Author

Susan Cooper is one of our foremost fantasy authors; her classic five-book fantasy sequence The Dark Is Rising has sold millions of copies worldwide. Her books’ accolades include the Newbery Medal, a Newbery Honor, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and five shortlists for the Carnegie Medal. She combines fantasy with history in Victory (a Washington Post Top Ten Books for Children pick), King of Shadows, Ghost Hawk, and her magical The Boggart and the Monster, second in a trilogy, which won the Scottish Arts Council’s Children’s Book Award. Susan Cooper lives on a saltmarsh island in Massachusetts, and you can visit her online at

Praise For…

"[A] thunderous fantasy."
— The New York times

"As well as a thrilling, flawlessly structured adventure...The Dark Is Rising is a perfect coming-of-age story."
— The Guardian
Product Details
ISBN: 9781665932899
ISBN-10: 1665932899
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: November 14th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: The Dark Is Rising Sequence