What Katy Did (Dover Children's Evergreen Classics) (Paperback)

What Katy Did (Dover Children's Evergreen Classics) By Susan Coolidge Cover Image
$5.99
Backordered

Description


Twelve-year-old Katy Carr has big plans for what she wants to do with her life. The oldest of six children, she's a natural leader with plenty of imagination who dreams of being an artist, saving lives, and leading crusades. She'd also like to help her father and aunt as they struggle to raise a rough-and-tumble crew of motherless children, but her stubbornness, quick temper, and mischievous nature trip her up time and again.
When a serious accident requires a long convalescence, Katy has a chance to think things over. Fortunately, her cousin Helen -- who's well acquainted with the frustrations of being trapped in a sickroom -- is on hand to inspire Katy and set an example of patience and generosity. Fans of Little Women and Anne of Green Gables will treasure this nostalgic tale of a spunky pre-teen growing up in nineteenth-century America and her discovery of how a positive attitude can transform bitterness and misery into love and happiness.

About the Author


American author Sarah Chauncey Woolsey (1835-1905), who wrote under the pen name Susan Coolidge, is best known for her classic children's novel What Katy Did. Woolsey modeled the fictional Carr family on her own relatives and her heroine, Katy, on her childhood self. The book's popularity upon its 1872 publication led to four sequels.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780486822525
ISBN-10: 0486822524
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: August 15th, 2018
Pages: 192
Language: English
Series: Dover Children's Evergreen Classics