A Horse Named Sky (A Voice of the Wilderness Novel) (Hardcover)

A Horse Named Sky (A Voice of the Wilderness Novel) By Rosanne Parry, Kirbi Fagan (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Rosanne Parry, Kirbi Fagan (Illustrator)
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Point Reyes
On hand as of Jun 22 6:23am
(KIDS)

Description


An instant New York Times bestseller!

A stand-alone companion to the national bestsellers A Wolf Called Wander and A Whale of the Wild.

Exiled from his band, a young, wild horse must find his way across treacherous terrain to reunite with his family after being captured for the Pony Express. Horn Book calls A Horse Named Sky “engrossing and fast-paced.” This Voice on the Wilderness novel is an enthralling survival story about wild horses, family bonds, and a changing environment. 

Young colt Sky was born with the urge to run. Alongside his band, he moves across the range searching for fresh water and abundant grazing. But humans have begun to encroach on Sky’s homelands. With fewer resources to share, Sky knows that he must leave if his family is to survive. He hopes that one day he’ll be strong and brave enough to return and challenge the stallion to lead the herd.

Being a lone wild horse in a vast landscape is not easy, and things get even more dangerous when Sky is captured and forced to run for the Pony Express. Now, against all odds, Sky must find a way to escape and reunite with his family.

A Horse Named Sky is a stand-alone companion novel to Rosanne Parry’s New York Times bestsellers A Wolf Called Wander and A Whale of the Wild. Chronicling the perils of westward expansion and the grueling Pony Express from the perspective of a wild horse, A Horse Named Sky is a gripping animal survival story about family, courage, trust, leadership, and loyalty. Impeccably researched and illustrated in black-and-white throughout, A Horse Named Sky is an excellent read-aloud for parents and teachers and a wonderful choice for fans of DreamWorks’ Spirit and Anna Sewell’s Black Beauty.

Includes black-and-white illustrations throughout, a map, and extensive back matter about wild horses and their habitats. 

About the Author


Rosanne Parry is the author of the acclaimed novels A Wolf Called Wander, A Whale of the Wild, A Horse Named Sky, Heart of a Shepherd, Second Fiddle, and Written in Stone. She has taught writing at schools, conferences, educational nonprofits, and online at the Loft Literary Center and works as an independent bookseller. She and her family live in an old farmhouse in Portland, Oregon. She writes in a tree house in her backyard.



Kirbi Fagan is a writer and illustrator for readers of all ages, but she specializes in children's literature. She is recognized for her cover art in adult, teen, and middle grade fiction as well as her numerous covers for comic books. Kirbi Fagan’s work is inspired by her experiences as an artist with disabilities. She was traditionally trained as an oil painter but now works in mixed media techniques, including digital tools. Kirbi Fagan lives in Waterford, Michigan. 

Praise For…


“Parry’s moving story follows the pattern of her recent animal tales, A Wolf Called Wander and A Whale of the Wild, chronicling a wild animal’s life in the first person, imagining its point of view, and detailing and appreciating the natural world it inhabits. . . . As Sky grows from wobbly newborn to leader of his family, he faces more than the usual challenges for colts who must fight their stallions or leave their herds when they are grown up. . . . A feel-good tale of a clever and determined stallion set against a well-developed landscape.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Sky’s first-person narration of his adventures is engrossing and fast-paced. . . . Parry weaves historical and environmental information smoothly into the narrative. . . . Parry writes a convincing fictionalized life of one wild animal while addressing issues of community, survival, and care for our environment. Fagan’s realistic black-and-white illustrations convey the windswept mountain terrain and the movement of the horses.” — Horn Book Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062995957
ISBN-10: 0062995952
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: August 29th, 2023
Pages: 272
Language: English
Series: A Voice of the Wilderness Novel